

Adam Smith Business School



The 75th Annual Congress of the International Institute of Public Finance

TAXATION AND MOBILITY
Call for Papers



www.iipf2019.co.uk #IIPF2019







# August 21-23, 2019 Glasgow, Scotland

www.iipf2019.co.uk

The theme of the 2019 congress is **Taxation and Mobility**.

Taxes influence many economic decisions, such as consumption (of sin goods), work and savings.

Mobility can refer to citizens moving within their home country, often for work-related reasons, or between countries through migration. Mobility also takes place within the income distribution, through the progression over the life cycle or between different generations.

Different policies have been proposed to steer economic behaviour via taxes, to affect mobility across regions and to promote upward income mobility. Moreover, mobility may also influence tax policy by directly affecting the demand for income redistribution and insurance.

The keynote lectures of the conference will address these, and other, issues.

Keynote speeches will be given by:

#### **Rachel Griffith**

Professor, University of Manchester and IFS, UK

# **Nathaniel Hendren**

Professor, Harvard University, USA

# **Jonathan Portes**

Professor, King's College London, UK

## **Stefanie Stantcheva**

Professor, Harvard University, USA

Prospective contributors, both practitioners and academics, are invited to submit papers. While the congress theme is "Taxation and Mobility", as is traditional at IIPF congresses, papers on any topic within the field of public economics are welcome.

Papers should be submitted through www.conftool.org/iipf2019.
The deadline for submissions is February 15, 2019.

The papers to be presented at the IIPF Congress will be selected by the Scientific Committee. Submitted papers should include an abstract and keywords. Only completed papers in PDF format will be considered. There are no submission fees for IIPF members. Non-members must pay a submission fee of €20.

Acceptance decisions will be communicated by early April 2019. Authors of accepted papers are required to become members of the IIPF and to confirm their presentation by registering before June 1, 2019. Payment of the annual IIPF membership fee also ensures a reduced registration rate. For more information about IIPF membership please visit www.iipf.org/mbshp.

Selected papers from the 2019 IIPF Congress will be published in a special issue of *International Tax and Public Finance*. To be considered for publication in this issue, papers must be submitted to the journal by October 15, 2019.

Authors who wish to be considered for the IIPF Young Economists Award, the IIPF Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize (both for authors under 40 years), or the *International Tax and Public Finance* PhD Student Prize should indicate this when submitting papers for presentation. More information on the awards is available at **www.iipf.org/awards.** 

### **CHAIRS OF SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE**

Bas Jacobs (Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands)

Daniel Waldenström (Paris School of Economics, France and IFN, Sweden)

#### **SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

David R. Agrawal (University of Kentucky, USA), Spencer Bastani (Linnæus University, Sweden), Felix Bierbrauer (University of Cologne, Germany), Aart Gerritsen (Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands), Joshua D. Gottlieb (University of British Columbia, Canada), Makoto Hasegawa (Kyoto University, Japan), Marko Koethenbuerger (ETH Zurich, Switzerland), Etienne Lehmann (CRED, Université Paris 2, France), Erzo F.P. Luttmer (Dartmouth College, USA), Linda Nøstbakken (Norwegian School of Economics, Norway), Andreas Peichl (ifo Institute and University of Munich LMU, Germany), Paola Profeta (Bocconi University, Italy), Andrea Repetto (Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez, Chile), Nadine Riedel (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany), Dominik Sachs (University of Munich LMU, Germany), Kimberley Scharf (University of Birmingham, UK), Dirk Schindler (Norwegian School of Economics, Norway), Ragnar Torvik (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway), Binzhen Wu (Tsinghua University, China), Danny Yagan (University of California Berkeley, USA)

#### **CHAIR OF LOCAL ORGANISING COMMITTEE**

Céline Azémar (Adam Smith Business School, University of Glasgow, Scotland)

#### **LOCAL ORGANISING COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

Konstantinos Angelopoulos, Souvik Datta, Emma Hutton, Jim Malley, Hannah McShane,

John Tsoukalas (all from Adam Smith Business School, University of Glasgow, Scotland)