

## Report on the 65<sup>th</sup> IIPF Congress, Cape Town, South Africa

The 65<sup>th</sup> IIPF Congress was held at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) between 13-16 August 2009, and was **attended by 347 scholars** (including accompanying persons) from a wide range of countries.

The theme of the plenary session was *Public Policy and Development*. Plenary speakers were Louis Kasekende ("Public Policy and Economic Development in Africa"), Vito Tanzi ("The economic role of the state before and after the current crisis"), Otaviano Canuto ("The Conduct of fiscal policy in developing countries: Lessons from the Trenches"), Tony Venables ("Harnessing natural resources to promote development") and Michael Keen ("Challenges for TAX Policy and Administration in Developing Countries"). Hans-Werner Sinn has opened the Congress with his Presidential speech on "Developing Countries: Changes and Challenges".

The main body of the Congress consisted of 218 **contributed papers** (out of 405 submissions), accompanied by the corresponding number of formal discussions, covering together virtually all topics within public economics, but with *Public Policy and Development* as a major area. To accommodate the large number of papers delivered, 11 to 13 parallel sessions were necessary. In total, 74 sessions were organised. The papers are available on the conference-maker site of the 65<sup>th</sup> IIPF Congress (http://editorialexpress.com/conference/IIPF65/program/IIPF65.html). As usual, a selection of contributed papers and plenary presentations will appear in a special issue of *International Tax and Public Finance* in 2010.

The **Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize** for the best paper contributed by authors(s) under the age of 40 went to Christian Leßmann and Gunther Markwardt for their paper "Aid, Growth and Devolution". The **IIPF Young Economists Awards** 2009 (three awards) went to Ronald Davies and Johannes Voget for their paper "Tax Competition in an Expanding European Union", to Martial Foucault, Emilie Caldeira, and Grégoire Rota-Graziosi for their paper "Public Spending Interactions among Beninese Municipalities", and to José Carlos Assi Kimou for his paper "Economic Conditions, Enforcement and Criminal Activities in the District of Abidjan". For the same paper José Kimou received one of the **African Public Policy Awards** given by IIPF and the German Development Cooperation GTZ. Two further African Public Policy Awards went to Boniface Ngah Epo and Francis Menjo Baye for their paper "Explaining Inter-Household Gender Inequality in Cameroon: An Oaxaca-Blinder Approach", and to Flaubert Mbiekop for his paper "On Governance and the Demographic Transition".

Ravi Kanbur, Robin Boadway, and Alfons Weichenrieder served as the award committee for the Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize and the IIPF Young Economists Awards. Blanca Moreno Dodson, Robin Boadway, Anwar Shah, Niek Schoeman and Ravi Kanbur served as the award committee for the GTZ and IIPF African Public Policy Awards.

The University of Pretoria offered the delegates a welcome reception at the Cape Town International Convention Centre. The main social event of the Congress was the excursion along the coast, the visit of different wineries near Stellenbosch and a dinner with music at the restaurant Moyo at Spier. On Saturday evening the conference dinner was held at the Westin Grand Hotel near the CTICC. The food, the music and the drinks contributed to turning these events into an excellent opportunity to meet colleagues and chat in an informal atmosphere, and to strengthen relations between IIPF members.

The Local Organising Committee was chaired by Niek Schoeman (University of Pretoria, South Africa). The Scientific Committee was chaired by Ravi Kanbur (Cornell University, USA). Its members included Emma Auriol (University of Toulouse), Haroon Bhorat (University of Cape Town), Craig Brett (Mount Allison University), Sijbren Cnossen (Maastricht University), Matz Dahlberg (University of Uppsala), Blanca Dodson (World Bank), Indraneel Dasgupta (University of Nottingham), Timothy Goodspeed (Hunter College (CUNY), Masayoshi Hayashi (Hitotsubashi University), Andreas Lange (University of Maryland), Peter Lanjouw (World Bank), Jenny Ligthart (University of Tilburg), Ben Lockwood (University of Warwick), Soren Bo Nielsen (Copenhagen Business School), Jukka Pirttila. (University of Tampere), Hillel Rapoport (Bar Ilan University), Efraim Sadka (Tel Aviv), Guttorm Schjelderup (NHH Bergen), Daniel Seidmann (University of Nottingham), Anwar Shah (World Bank), Matti Tuomala (University of Tampere), Alfons Weichenrieder (University of Frankfurt), Ludger Woessman (Ifo Institute (Munich).

Photos of the Congress are available on the Photo Gallery posted on http://www.iipf.org/iipf65\_pp1.htm.

We would like to thank the **sponsors** of the Congress for their kind contributions: National Treasury South Africa, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (German Technical Cooperation, GTZ), on behalf of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Dynamic Wealth, Absa Bank as well as the World Bank.

December 2009

Ravi Kanbur Niek Schoeman